Main Image

About the Authors

Stephen B. Goldberg

Photo - Stephen B. Goldberg Stephen Goldberg is professor of law emeritus at Northwestern University School of Law.  Along with Dispute Resolution, Professor Goldberg has authored several other publications including "Is the Mediator’s Primary Goal to Settle the Dispute?" Dispute Resolution Magazine, Winter 2009; "of Further Investigation into the Secrets of Successful and Unsuccessful Mediators," Alternatives, 2008; Gerer les Conflits “Autrement,” 2008; "The Secrets of Successful (and Unsuccessful) Mediators Continued: Studies Two and Three," Negotiation Journal, 2007; "What Happens After the Arbitrator’s Award," Proceedings, 59th Annual Meeting, National Academy of Arbitrators, 2007.


Frank E.A. Sander

Photo - Frank E.A. Sander

Frank E.A. Sander, A.B. (Mathematics), LL.B., Harvard University, is Bussey Professor of Law, Emeritus, at Harvard Law School.  Professor Sander came to the Harvard Law School faculty in 1959 after clerking with Justice Frankfurter and several years of practice, including two years with the Tax Division, U.S. Department of Justice.  A scholar in taxation and family law in his early teaching years, he more recently taught an overview course in Alternative Dispute Resolution as well as courses on Negotiation and Mediation and co-taught readings on Dispute System Design.  For many years, he served as Associate Dean and as co-director of the Harvard Program on Dispute Resolution.

Chief Justice Warren Burger invited Professor Sander to deliver a paper on alternative dispute resolution at the Pound Conference in 1976, where he presented a concept that has since been called the “multi-door courthouse.” Professor Sander is the co-author of Dispute Resolution: Negotiation, Mediation, Arbitration and Other Processes, now in a sixth edition.  His co-authored article, “Fitting the Forum to the Fuss,” in 1994 sounded a theme that is repeated in Designing Systems and Processes for Managing Disputes.  

Professor Sander served for fourteen years on the ABA Standing Committee on Dispute Resolution, including three years as Chair, and an even longer period as Chair of the Editorial Board of the ABA Section on Dispute Resolution’s Dispute Resolution Magazine.  The American Bar Association honored Professor Sander with its Kutak Award, and the ABA Section on Dispute Resolution gave him the D’Alemberte-Raven Award and the Outstanding Scholarly Work Award, named an annual lecture series for him, and devoted a recent issue of its Dispute Resolution Magazine to honoring him.  Professor Sander has also received awards for her contributions to dispute resolution from the American Arbitration Association (Whitney North Seymour, Sr. Award), the International Academy of Mediators (Lifetime Achievement Award), and the International Institute for Conflict Prevention and Resolution


Nancy H. Rogers

Photo - Nancy H. Rogers

Nancy H. Rogers, B.A., University of Kansas; J.D. Yale Law School, is Professor Emeritus and Emeritus Michael E. Moritz Chair in Alternative Dispute Resolution at the Ohio State University Moritz College of Law.  Since joining the Moritz faculty, she has served as Ohio Attorney General, Dean of the Moritz College of Law, Vice Provost for Academic Administration of The Ohio State University, Visiting Professor of Law at Harvard Law School, and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs for Moritz. Teaching civil procedure and evidence in her early teaching years, she has taught more recently in the dispute resolution area, including courses in Dispute System Design, Mediation, Negotiation, Dispute Resolution, and Facilitation.  Prior to joining the faculty, she was a law clerk for U.S. District Judge Thomas D. Lambros in Cleveland and practiced law in the Glenville-area office of the Cleveland Legal Aid Society.

Professor Rogers’ co-authored treatise on mediation received the CPR Legal Program Book Prize in 1989 and her co-authored short text on mediation received the same national prize in 1987.  She is also a co-author of Dispute Resolution: Negotiation, Mediation, Arbitration, and Other Processes, now in its sixth edition.

Professor Rogers was a member of the ABA Standing Committee on Dispute Resolution and served as chair for two years.  She was President of the Association of American Law Schools in 2007 and was a member of its Executive Committee for five years. She was a member of the National Conference of Commissioners of Uniform State Laws for seven years and was Reporter for the Conference’s Uniform Mediation Act.  Professor Rogers receive awards for her dispute resolution work from the American Bar Association Section on Dispute Resolution (D’Alemberte-Raven Award) and the American Arbitration Association (Whitney North Seymour, Sr. Medal). American Arbitration Association (Whitney North Seymour, Sr. Medal). 


Sarah Rudolph Cole

Photo - Sarah Rudolph Cole

Sarah Cole is Squire, Sanders & Dempsey Designated Professor of Law and Director of the Program on Dispute Resolution at the Ohio State University School of Law.

Professor Cole practiced labor and employment law with Heller, Ehrman, White & McAuliffe in Seattle and Seyfarth, Shaw, Fairweather & Geraldson in Chicago before joining the faculty at Creighton University School of Law. While at Creighton, and now at Ohio State, Professor Cole has focused her research on the legal issues and policy that have arisen as a result of the increased use of alternative dispute resolution.

She teaches primarily in the Alternative Dispute Resolution area, but has also taught Torts, Remedies, and Administrative Law. Professor Cole has recently published articles in BYU Law Review, Georgia Law Review, Hastings Law Journal, and the Ohio State Journal on Dispute Resolution.

Professor Cole is co-author, with Dean Nancy H. Rogers and Dean Craig McEwen, of Mediation: Law, Policy and Practice (2d. ed. 1994), the leading treatise in the field of mediation, and co-author with Dean Nancy H. Rogers, Frank Sander and Stephen Goldberg of Dispute Resolution: Negotiation, Mediation and Other Processes (4th ed. 2003), one of the leading dispute resolution casebooks in the country.

She is a member of the Arbitration Committee and the Public Service Institute for the ABA Section on Dispute Resolution and a regular speaker on ADR topics at national meetings. She was a member of the academic advisory faculty that consulted with NCCUSL and the ABA regarding the drafting of the Uniform Mediation Act. She also consults regularly with the OSBA dispute resolution committee and the Ohio Supreme Court Commission on Dispute Resolution on dispute resolution issues arising in Ohio.